Meet Our Staff

**The Honors College staff will be working remotely until March 31, 2020, or as directed otherwise by University officials.**

The Honors College staff supports high-achieving students across campus in a variety of roles.  We provideā€¦

  • ADVISING for students who plan to enter pre-health professions or who want to apply for prestigious awards and fellowships such as the Truman or the Goldwater
  • INTERDISCIPLINARY SEMINARS and honors sections of general education courses available to all honors students on campus
  • GUIDANCE through the Application to Candidacy process required for graduation with honors distinction
  • ADMINISTRATIVE SUPPORT to all honors program directors, members of the Honors Faculty, honors students and merit scholar students
  • OVERSIGHT for the University Honors Program, the oldest and largest honors program on campus, open to students of any major
     

Staff

Malin Pereira, Ph.D.

Executive Director

Malin Pereira, Ph.D.
Levine Hall 190
704-687-7198
mpereira@uncc.edu

Read More

Mindy Adnot, Ph.D.

Associate Director of Curriculum

Mindy Adnot, Ph.D.
Levine Hall 191
704-687-7195
madnot@uncc.edu

Read More

Gretchen Bagley, NCCP

University Honors and Merit Scholars Specialist

Gretchen Bagley, NCCP
Levine Hall 192
704-687-7980
gretchenbagley@uncc.edu

Read More

Christopher Cameron, Ph.D.

Faculty Fellow

Christopher Cameron, Ph.D.
Levine Hall 291
christopher.cameron@uncc.edu

Read More

Elizabeth Hanie, D.V.M., M.S.

Pre-Health Professions Advisor

Elizabeth Hanie, D.V.M., M.S.
Levine Hall 293
704-687-7196
prehealth@uncc.edu

Read More

Joe Howarth, M.A.

Faculty Fellow For Community Engagement

Joe Howarth, M.A.
Levine Hall 193
thowarth@uncc.edu

Read More

Reuben Howden, Ph.D.

Crown Scholars Faculty Fellow

Reuben Howden, Ph.D.
Levine Hall 194
rhowden@uncc.edu

Read More

Karen James, M.A.T., J.D.

Associate Director for Scholars Advising

Karen James, M.A.T., J.D.
Levine Hall 292
704-687-7200
karenjames@uncc.edu

Read More

Jeffrey Leak, Ph.D.

Martin Scholars Faculty Fellow (On leave for 2019-20 Academic Yr)

Jeffrey Leak, Ph.D.
Levine Hall 194
jleak@uncc.edu

Read More

Denise Lynch, MA, NCC, LCMHC

Coordinator of Programming

Denise Lynch, MA, NCC, LCMHC
Levine Hall 188
704-687-6053
dlynch29@uncc.edu

Read More

Shannon Zurell-Carey

Office Administrator

Shannon Zurell-Carey
704-687-5103
Levine Hall 189
shannonzurell@uncc.edu

Read More

Connor Derrick

Alumni Relations Intern

Connor Derrick

Read More

Brianna Smith

Events and Programming Intern

Brianna Smith

Read More

Molly Unrath

Marketing Intern

Bryson White

IT Intern