Honors Faculty

While any faculty member at UNC Charlotte can propose a course to teach in the Honors College, only faculty who have taught honors students and/or provided service to honors can be appointed to the Honors Faculty. Honors Faculty are a resource for Honors College students and administrators, and provide faculty governance for honors through their election of Honors Council representatives, and service on Honors College task forces and committees.

Nomination process for Honors Faculty

Each spring, the Honors College invites department chairs to nominate their faculty to the Honors Faculty. Nominations will be reviewed by the Honors Council and the Executive Director.  The nomination form is here.  Nominations are due April 10th.  Appointments begin July 1, and are five-year, renewable terms.  

Criteria for Honors Faculty include the following:

  • TAUGHT an honors course
  • PROVIDED SERVICE to honors in their department, college, or the Honors College
  • ADVISED OR MENTORED a thesis/project for an honors student


REAPPOINTMENT process for Honors Faculty

The reappointment form is here.  Reappointments are due April 10th.  Reappointments begin July 1, and are five-year, renewable terms.

Criteria for reappointment to Honors Faculty include the following:

  • CONTINUE teaching honors courses
  • CONTINUE to provide service to honors in their department, college, or the Honors College
  • CONTINUE to advise or mentor a thesis/project for an honors student

Faculty

Ted Amato

Professor

Ted Amato
Economics
Friday 220A
ltamato@uncc.edu

Read More

Kelly Anderson

Associate Professor

Kelly Anderson
Special Education and Child Development
COED 332
704-687-8832
keanders@uncc.edu

Read More

Benny J. Andrés, Jr.

Associate Professor

Benny J. Andrés, Jr.
History
Garinger 103
bandres@uncc.edu

Read More

Bruce Arrigo

Professor

Bruce Arrigo
Criminal Justice
Colvard 5184
barrigo@uncc.edu

Read More

Susan Arthur

Associate Professor

Susan Arthur
Kinesiology
Cameron 276
sarthur8@uncc.edu

Read More

Jeff Balmer

Associate Professor

Jeff Balmer
Architecture
Storrs 246
jdbalmer@uncc.edu

Read More

Ian Binns

Associate Professor and Director, Elementary Education

Ian Binns
Reading and Elementary Education
COED 389
ian.binns@uncc.edu

Read More
Pilar Blitvich

Pilar Blitvich

Professor

Pilar Blitvich
English
Fretwell 245A
pgblitvi@uncc.edu

Read More

Andy Bobyarchick

Associate Professor

Andy Bobyarchick
Geography and Earth Sciences
McEniry 331
arbobyar@uncc.edu

Read More

Charles Bodkin

Professor

Charles Bodkin
Marketing
Friday 210B
cbodkin@uncc.edu

Read More

Ken Bost

Professor

Ken Bost
Biological Sciences
Woodward 390D
klbost@uncc.edu

Read More

David Brodeur

Associate Professor

David Brodeur
Art & Art History
Macy 101C
704-687-0178
dbbrodeu@uncc.edu

Read More

Jamie Brown

Lecturer

Jamie Brown
Special Education and Child Development
COED 336
j.brown@uncc.edu

Read More

Allison Burfield

Associate Professor

Allison Burfield
Nursing
CHHS 412C
704-687-7966
aburfiel@uncc.edu

Read More

Erik Byker

Associate Professor

Erik Byker
Reading and Elementary Education
COED
ebyker@uncc.edu

Read More

Jacqueline Chattopadhyay

Associate Professor

Jacqueline Chattopadhyay
Political Science & Public Administration
Fretwell 450G
jchattop@uncc.edu

Read More

Gang Chen

Associate Professor

Gang Chen
Geography & Earth Sciences
McEniry 304
gang.chen@uncc.edu

Read More

Harish Cherukuri

Professor

Harish Cherukuri
Mechanical Engineering
Duke 389
hcheruku@uncc.edu

Read More

Sandra Clinton

Research Assistant Professor

Sandra Clinton
Geography & Earth Sciences
McEniry 315
sclinto1@uncc.edu

Read More

Tamara Cohen

Lecturer

Tamara Cohen
Marketing
Friday 352B
tcohen3@uncc.edu

Read More
Charisse Coston

Charisse Coston

Associate Professor

Charisse Coston
Criminal Justice
Colvard 5081
ccoston@uncc.edu

Read More

Jonathan Crane

Associate Professor

Jonathan Crane
Communication Studies
Colvard 5006
jlcrane@uncc.edu

Read More

Daniela Cunico Dal Pra

Lecturer

Daniela Cunico Dal Pra
Languages and Culture Studies
COED 459B
dcunicod@uncc.edu

Read More
David Dalton

David Dalton

Assistant Professor and Director, Languages & Culture Studies Honors Program

David Dalton
Languages & Culture Studies
COED 463
ddalto14@uncc.edu

Read More

Jane Dalton

Associate Professor

Jane Dalton
Art & Art History
Winningham 203G
Jane.Dalton@uncc.edu

Read More

Casey Davenport

Assistant Professor

Casey Davenport
Geography & Earth Sciences
McEniry 239
Casey.Davenport@uncc.edu

Read More

Elizabeth Delmelle

Assistant Professor

Elizabeth Delmelle
Geography & Earth Sciences
McEniry 419
edelmell@uncc.edu

Read More

Eric Delmelle

Associate Professor

Eric Delmelle
Geography & Earth Sciences
McEniry 333
Eric.Delmelle@uncc.edu

Read More
John Diemer

John Diemer

Professor and Director, Geography and Earth Sciences Honors Program

John Diemer
Geography & Earth Sciences
McEniry 230
jadiemer@uncc.edu

Read More

Matthew Eastin

Associate Professor

Matthew Eastin
Geography & Earth Sciences
McEniry 209
mdeastin@uncc.edu

Read More

Jae Emerling

Associate Professor and Director, Arts + Architecture Honors Program

Jae Emerling
Art and Art History
Rowe 212
j.emering@uncc.edu

Read More

Dena Adele Evans

Director, School of Nursing

Dena Adele Evans
Nursing
CHHS 449
704-687-7974
devans37@uncc.edu

Read More

Thomas Forget

Associate Professor

Thomas Forget
Architecture
Storrs 226
tforget@uncc.edu

Read More

Jim Frakes

Associate Professor and Director, Art + Art History Honors Program

Jim Frakes
Art & Art History
Rowe 218
jffrakes@uncc.edu

Read More

Jamie Franki

Associate Professor

Jamie Franki
Art & Art History
Rowe 272
704-687-0183
jsfranki@uncc.edu

Read More

Heather Freeman

Professor

Heather Freeman
Art & Art History
Rowe 253
HeatherFreeman@uncc.edu

Read More

Nathaniel Fried

Professor and Director, Physics and Optical Science Honors Program

Nathaniel Fried
Physics and Optical Science
Grigg 344
nmfried@uncc.edu

Read More

Sara Gagne

Associate Professor

Sara Gagne
Geography and Earth Sciences
McEniry 319
sgagne@uncc.edu

Read More

Laurie Garo

Senior Lecturer

Laurie Garo
Geography & Earth Sciences
McEniry 417
lagaro@uncc.edu

Read More

Concepcion Godev

Associate Professor

Concepcion Godev
Spanish
COED 408
cgodev@uncc.edu

Read More

Maja Godlewska

Associate Professor

Maja Godlewska
Art & Art History
Rowe 257
mgodlews@uncc.edu

Read More

Bill Graves

Associate Professor

Bill Graves
Geography & Earth Sciences
McEniry 428
bgraves@uncc.edu

Read More

James Grymes

Professor

James Grymes
Music
Robinson 341
704-687-0251
jagrymes@uncc.edu

Read More

Kim Harris

Associate Professor

Kim Harris
Math
Fretwell 376D
mkharris@uncc.edu

Read More

Andrew Hartley

Professor (Robinson Distinguished Professor of Shakespeare)

Andrew Hartley
Theatre
Robinson 371
ajhartle@uncc.edu

Read More

Andrew Harver

Professor

Andrew Harver
Public Health Sciences
CHHS 427
arharver@uncc.edu

Read More

Schnavia Hatcher

Director

Schnavia Hatcher
School of Social Work
CHHS 496
schnavia.hatcher@uncc.edu

Read More

Misty Hathcock

Clinical Professor

Misty Hathcock
Office of Field Experiences and Reading and Elementary Education
COED 139
mchathco@uncc.edu

Read More

Aspen Hochhalter

Associate Professor

Aspen Hochhalter
Art & Art History
Rowe 237
ahochhal@uncc.edu

Read More

Lisa Homann

Assistant Professor

Lisa Homann
Art & Art History
Rowe 219
lhomann@uncc.edu

Read More

Rueben Howden

Associate Professor

Rueben Howden
Kinesiology
Cameron 260
rhowden@uncc.edu

Read More
Robin James

Robin James

Associate Professor and Director, Philosophy Honors Program

Robin James
Philosophy
Winningham 102B
rjames7@uncc.edu

Read More

Dan Jones

Associate Professor and Director, Chemistry Honors Program

Dan Jones
Chemistry
Burson 266
djones@uncc.edu

Read More

Lee-Ann Kenny

Clinical Assistant Professor

Lee-Ann Kenny
Nursing
CHHS - 411C
704-687-7957
ltkenny@uncc.edu

Read More

Moutaz Khouja

Professor

Moutaz Khouja
Business Info Systems & Op Management
Friday 351C
mjkhouja@uncc.edu

Read More

Oscar Lansen

Teaching Professor

Oscar Lansen
History
Garinger 237
oelansen@uncc.edu

Read More

Jeffrey Leak

Professor

Jeffrey Leak
English
Fretwell 280D
jleak@uncc.edu

Read More

Sara Levens

Assistant Professor and Director, Psychology Honors Program

Sara Levens
Psychology
Colvard 4033
slevens@uncc.edu

Read More

Janaka Lewis

Associate Professor

Janaka Lewis
English
Fretwell 245M
jlewi102@uncc.edu

Read More

Lydia Light

Assistant Professor and Director, Anthropology Honors Program

Lydia Light
Anthropology
Hickory 45B
llight1@uncc.edu

Read More

Brian Magi

Associate Professor

Brian Magi
Geography and Earth Sciences
McEniry 232
Brian.Magi@uncc.edu

Read More
Emily Makas

Emily Makas

Associate Professor

Emily Makas
Architecture
Storrs 223
emakas@uncc.edu

Read More

Juliana Marino

Lecturer and Director, Kinesiology Honors Program

Juliana Marino
Kinesiology
Belk 214
jmarin11@uncc.edu

Read More

Michael Matthews

Professor

Michael Matthews
Special Education and Child Development
COED 347
michael.matthews@uncc.edu

Read More

Susan McCarter

Associate Professor

Susan McCarter
Social Work
CHHS 499
smccarter@uncc.edu

Read More

Adriana Medina

Associate Professor

Adriana Medina
Reading and Elementary Education
COED 393
amedina1@uncc.edu

Read More

Kirk Melnikoff

Professor and Director, English Honors Program

Kirk Melnikoff
English
Fretwell 260E
kbmelnik@uncc.edu

Read More
Annelise Mennicke

Annelise Mennicke

Assistant Professor

Annelise Mennicke
Social Work
CHHS 487B
amennick@uncc.edu

Read More

Matthew Metzgar

Clinical Professor

Matthew Metzgar
Economics
Friday 223B
mmetzgar@uncc.edu

Read More

Maryann Mraz

Professor

Maryann Mraz
Reading and Elementary Education
COED 391
memraz@uncc.edu

Read More

Jennifer Munroe

Professor

Jennifer Munroe
English
Fretwell 276B
jamunroe@uncc.edu

Read More

Adriana Ocejo Monge

Assistant Professor and Director, Mathematics Honors Program

Adriana Ocejo Monge
Mathematics
Fretwell 335G
amonge2@uncc.edu

Read More

Akin Ogundiran

Chair and Professor

Akin Ogundiran
Africana Studies
Garinger 113A
ogundiran@uncc.edu

Read More
 Malin Pereira

Malin Pereira

Professor and Executive Director, Honors College

Malin Pereira
English
Levine 190
mpereira@uncc.edu

Read More

Manuel Perez Quinones

Professor and Associate Dean

Manuel Perez Quinones
Software and Information Systems
Woodward 443F
Perez.Quinones@uncc.edu

Read More

Heather Perry

Associate Professor

Heather Perry
History
Garinger 232
hrperry@uncc.edu

Read More

Amy Peters

Senior Lecturer

Amy Peters
School of Social Work
CHHS 489
amy.peters@uncc.edu

Read More

Paola Pilonieta

Associate Professor

Paola Pilonieta
Reading and Elementary Education
COED 392
ppilonie@uncc.edu

Read More

Amanda Pipkin

Associate Professor

Amanda Pipkin
History
Temporary location Fall 2018-Spring 2019: Hickory 24A
704-687-5152
apipkin@uncc.edu

Read More

Drew Polly

Professor

Drew Polly
Reading and Elementary Education
COED 370
abpolly@uncc.edu

Read More

Barbara Presnell

Lecturer

Barbara Presnell
University Writing Program
Cameron 140
704-687-1917
mdphill1@uncc.edu

Read More

Michael Putman

Chair and Professor

Michael Putman
Elementary Education
COED 367B
michael.putman@uncc.edu

Read More
Meaghan Rand

Meaghan Rand

Lecturer

Meaghan Rand
University Writing Program
Cameron 126
mrand1@uncc.edu

Read More

Alan Rauch

Professor

Alan Rauch
English
Fretwell 290L
arauch@uncc.edu

Read More

Valerie Reynolds

Lecturer

Valerie Reynolds
Geography and Earth Sciences
McEniry 242
vreynol2@uncc.edu

Read More

Sonyia Richardson

Lecturer

Sonyia Richardson
Social Work
CHHS 487F
smcopela@uncc.edu

Read More

Diana Rowan

Associate Professor; MSW Director

Diana Rowan
Social Work
CHHS 498
drowan@uncc.edu

Read More
Matthew Rowney

Matthew Rowney

Assistant Professor

Matthew Rowney
English
Fretwell 260C
mrowney@uncc.edu

Read More

Consuelo Salas

Assistant Professor

Consuelo Salas
University Writing Program
Cameron 140
704-687-1917
rpkilmer@uncc.edu

Read More
Monika Sawhney

Monika Sawhney

Associate Professor

Monika Sawhney
Public Health Sciences
CHHS 335C
msawhney@uncc.edu

Read More

Jack Scheff

Assistant Professor

Jack Scheff
Geography & Earth Sciences
McEniry 237
jscheff@uncc.edu

Read More

Mohamed Shehab

Associate Professor

Mohamed Shehab
Software and Information Systems
Woodward 333F
mshehab@uncc.edu

Read More

Rebecca Shore

Associate Professor

Rebecca Shore
Educational Leadership
COED 269
rshore6@uncc.edu

Read More

Celia Sinclair

Senior Lecturer

Celia Sinclair
Religious Studies
Cedar 25D
cbsincla@uncc.edu

Read More

John Smail

Professor

John Smail
History, Dean of UCOL
Colvard 2100
jsmail@uncc.edu

Read More

Heather Smith

Professor

Heather Smith
Geography and Earth Sciences
McEniry 438
heatsmit@uncc.edu

Read More

Elizabeth Stearns

Professor and Director, Sociology Honors Program

Elizabeth Stearns
Sociology
Fretwell 490M
mestearn@uncc.edu

Read More

Ashli Stokes

Associate Professor and Director, Communication Studies Honors Program

Ashli Stokes
Communication Studies
Colvard 5004
aqstokes@uncc.edu

Read More

John Szmer

Associate Professor

John Szmer
Political Science
Fretwell 435F
jjszmer@uncc.edu

Read More

James Tabor

Professor and Director, Religious Studies Honors Program

James Tabor
Religious Studies
Cedar Hall 33A
jdtabor@uncc.edu

Read More
Peter Thorsheim

Peter Thorsheim

Professor

Peter Thorsheim
History
Garinger 112
peter.thorsheim@uncc.edu

Read More

Aaron Toscano

Associate Professor

Aaron Toscano
English
Fretwell 280F
atoscano@uncc.edu

Read More

Susan Trammell

Associate Professor

Susan Trammell
Physics and Optical Science
Grigg 333
srtramme@uncc.edu

Read More

Meredith Troutman-Jordan

Associate Professor

Meredith Troutman-Jordan
Nursing
CHHS 444B
704-687-7973
meredithtroutman@uncc.edu

Read More

David Vinson

Assistant Professor

David Vinson
Geography & Earth Sciences
McEniry 208
dsvinson@uncc.edu

Read More

Lisa Walker

Professor

Lisa Walker
Sociology
Colvard 2330
lisa.walker@uncc.edu

Read More

Erik Waterkotte

Associate Professor

Erik Waterkotte
Art & Art History
Rowe 260
ewaterko@uncc.edu

Read More

Jennifer Webb

Associate Professor

Jennifer Webb
Psychology
Colvard 4024
jbest18@uncc.edu

Read More

Beth Whitaker

Associate Professor and Director, Political Science Honors Program

Beth Whitaker
Political Science and Public Administration
Fretwell 445H
bwhitaker@uncc.edu

Read More

Diane Zablotsky

Associate Professor and Director, Levine Scholars Program

Diane Zablotsky
Sociology
Levine 285
dlzablot@uncc.edu

Read More

Faculty, Honors Council

 Jose Batista

José Manuel Batista

Associate Professor and Director, Latin American Studies Honors Program

José Manuel Batista
Spanish
COED 405
jose.batista@uncc.edu

Read More

Jeanette Bennett

Assistant Professor

Jeanette Bennett
Psychology
Colvard 4049
jeanette.bennett@uncc.edu

Read More

Christopher Cameron

Associate Professor

Christopher Cameron
History
Garinger 110
ccamer17@uncc.edu

Read More

Robert Campbell

Associate Professor

Robert Campbell
Art & Art History
Macy 101B
rcampb44@uncc.edu

Read More

Didier Dreau

Associate Professor and Director, Biological Sciences Honors Program

Didier Dreau
Biological Sciences
Woodward 490
ddreau@uncc.edu

Read More

Karen Ford-Eickhoff

Clinical Professor

Karen Ford-Eickhoff
Management
Friday 342
Karen.Ford-Eickhoff@uncc.edu

Read More

Cindy Gilson

Assistant Professor

Cindy Gilson
Special Education
COED 335
cgilson@uncc.edu

Read More

Amy Good

Associate Professor and Director, Education Honors Program

Amy Good
Reading and Elementary Education
COED 375
agood5@uncc.edu

Read More

Milind Khire

Professor

Milind Khire
Civil and Environmental Engineering
EPIC 3260
mkhire@uncc.edu

Read More

Joseph Marino

Associate Professor

Joseph Marino
Kinesiology
Cameron 254
jmarin10@uncc.edu

Read More

Mary McKenzie

Senior Lecturer

Mary McKenzie
Sociology
Fretwell 460A
mfmckenz@uncc.edu

Read More

Mark Pizzato

Professor

Mark Pizzato
Theatre
Robinson 368
mpizzato@uncc.edu

Read More

Jordan Poler

Professor

Jordan Poler
Chemistry
Burson 143
jcpoler@uncc.edu

Read More
Jessica Schlueter

Jessica Schlueter

Associate Professor and Director, Computer and Informatics Honors Program

Jessica Schlueter
Bioinformatics
Bioinformatics 261
jschluet@uncc.edu

Read More

Ron Smelser

Professor, Senior Associate Dean, and Director, Engineering Honors Program

Ron Smelser
Engineering
Duke 314
rsmelser@uncc.edu

Read More

Eddy Souffrant

Associate Professor

Eddy Souffrant
Philosophy
Winningham 109A
esouffra@uncc.edu

Read More

Carol Stivender

Clinical Professor

Carol Stivender
Economics
Friday 219D
costiven@uncc.edu

Read More

Kalpathi Subramanian

Associate Professor

Kalpathi Subramanian
Computer Science
Woodward 435E
krs@uncc.edu

Read More

Cynthia Toth

Senior Lecturer

Cynthia Toth
School of Nursing
CHHS 444E
cltoth@uncc.edu

Read More

Murray Webster

Professor

Murray Webster
Sociology
Fretwell 460E
mawebste@uncc.edu

Read More